Home > entertainment, rant, vampires, zombies > ‘Noughty’ & Newsworthy – Part 1: Vampires

‘Noughty’ & Newsworthy – Part 1: Vampires

First of all, i’d like to apologise for jumping on the ‘noughty’ bandwagon – i’d like to find the person who invented that term and slap them … but since I can’t come up with anything better, I’ll have to make do.

As my first foray into blogging I thought I would do a series of blogs providing my summary of some of the trends that have impacted us most in the past decade – with a definite bent toward to the nerdish. Some are serious, some are tongue in cheek – but I would like to think they are a fair representation of the decade as a whole.

VAMPIRES

At the end of the last decade (and early this one) Buffy was killing vampires, and having the odd romantic encounter with them… but mostly they got staked! This decade Vampires became cool. Angel was always cool, of course, but with Twilight, True Blood, Vampire Diaries, and whole host of clones, Vampires became very mainstream. You know something has hit the mainstream when Disney picks up on it, with Vamps making appearance in shows like Hannah Montana and Wizards of Waverly Place. It’s also hard to avoid Robert Pattinson these days, recently named IMDB’s Top Star of 2009, with his Twilight co-star Kristen Stewart just behind him in 2nd.

I like Vampires as a theme, but Bram Stoker would throw himself off the cliffs at Whitby Abbey if he saw where the last decade has taken them. As a nerd, you could appreciate the cult status that Buffy achieved, but the glut of books & TV shows involving teenage Vampires and their girlfriends has become tedious, and once again highlights how a single big success breeds plenty of imitators in Hollywood and in the local bookstore.

Team Edward (James Olmos)

Team Edward (James Olmos)

In the interest of full disclosure, I should point out that I have two daughters, one 13 and one 11 at the time of writing this, so I have been subjected (yes, subjected is the right word) to Twilight-mania for a while now. In MY opinion – and since it’s my blog, that’s the opinion we will be going with – the only good thing to come out of Twilight was the brilliantly conceived “Team Edward (James Olmos)” T-shirt.

Actually, I’m being harsh here. My kids read those Twilight books several times each, and anything that gets kids reading is okay in my books – I just wish they took as much interest in their school books!

Part 2 of the blog series is also available

  1. December 23, 2009 at 7:40 pm

    I’ll try and post one part each day, and will also try and remember to post links between them too.

  1. December 24, 2009 at 4:43 pm

Leave a Reply

